Difference Between Remove Content and Delete in Blogger

When you moderate posted or published comments on your Blogger account, you have three options:

Option 1: Remove Content
Option 2: Delete
Option 3: Spam

Those buttons are available anytime there are spam comments that get through anti-spam. This happens most of the time which proves that Blogger anti-spam system isn’t perfect at all.

I’m going to point out the difference between Remove Content and Delete options for the benefit of those who want to know more about it. Spam will not be covered as it is self-explanatory.

What is Remove Content?

If you choose or click Remove Content button when you moderate a comment, it will be deleted and replaced with this notification:

“This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.”

Meaning, the comment will still be counted and show up on a post on your blog but is replaced with the statement provided above. When you browse the internet, you can encounter some BlogSpot sites with lots of removed content. Those are example of Blogger sites which are getting lots of spam comments or auto-spam comments daily.

Example of a blog comment which content is removed and replaced by "This comment has been removed by a blog administrator".Remove Content isn’t useful to spam comments only. There are times that administrators need to remove the content of legitimate but hateful comments. Also, it is applicable to same comments posted multiple times.

About Delete

From the word itself, it deletes a comment completely. There’s no way that you can retrieve it again. Trash folder for deleted comments does not exist in Blogger. That’s why be careful of what you tick before hitting the Delete button.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.